
What price will Ethereum hit in 2026?
$29.78M
2
40
What price will Ethereum hit in 2026?

$29.78M
2
40
AI Analysis
Trader mode: Actionable analysis for identifying opportunities and edge
About This Event
What price will Ethereum hit before 2027?
Snapshot observed 2026-10-13T18:00:05.634Z. This analysis describes that snapshot and is not a live news update.
What the contract measures
The two providers list related but differently worded contracts about Ethereum (ETH) prices. Kalshi's event, "Ethereum price at the end of 2026," resolves on a single time point. Its rule states that if "the simple average of the sixty seconds of CF Benchmarks' ETHUSD_RTI before 12 AM EST is X Y at 12 AM EST on Jan 1, 2027, then the market resolves to Yes" [1]. Each Kalshi bracket asks whether the price falls within a stated range at that moment. The provider's guidance also notes that "the price used to determine this market is based on CF Benchmarks' corresponding Real Time Index, RTI" [1].
Polymarket's event asks different questions. Its markets use phrasing such as "Will Ethereum dip to $2,250 by December 31, 2026?" and "Will Ethereum reach $3,000 by December 31, 2026?" [2]. These are threshold questions about whether a level is touched during a period, not whether the price sits in a bracket at one moment. The two platforms' contracts should therefore be read separately.
Reading the snapshot
The saved observation time for both events is 2026-10-13T18:00:05Z, and the material was retrieved at 2026-10-13T19:44:45Z. These are prices from that snapshot, not live quotes.
Within Kalshi's sample, the Yes prices for the 2,500 to 2,749.99 bracket (0.164) and the 2,250 to 2,499.99 bracket (0.157) are the highest included in the provided sample [1]. Within Polymarket's sample, the Yes price for "dip to $2,250" is 0.495, "reach $3,000" is 0.435, and "dip to $2,000" is 0.245 [2]. Because these are different question types from different providers, they should not be averaged or ranked together.
The listed close times also differ. Kalshi's markets show an end date of 2027-01-08T05:00:00.000Z, while the contract text refers to 12 AM EST on January 1, 2027 [1]. Polymarket lists 2027-01-01T05:00:00.000Z [2]. The reason for these differences is not stated in the evidence.
What remains uncertain
Each event is a partial sample. Kalshi includes 12 of 18 markets, and Polymarket includes 12 of 22 [1][2]. The omitted markets were excluded by the selection rule, which orders by Yes price and then volume. Their absence does not indicate that they priced lower. Volume also does not measure liquidity or the number of traders, and the evidence provides neither. The snapshot does not explain any price movement.
References
- Kalshi: Ethereum price at the end of 2026. Provider data observed 2026-10-13T18:00:05.634Z.
- Polymarket: What price will Ethereum hit in 2026?. Provider data observed 2026-10-13T18:00:05.634Z.
AI-generated analysis based on market data. Not financial advice.
Saved Oct 13, 2026 UTCOverview
Ethereum is described in the supplied reference material as a decentralized blockchain with smart contract functionality, and ether is its native cryptocurrency [3]. The same reference says ether is second only to bitcoin in market capitalization [3]. More generally, a cryptocurrency is a digital asset that uses distributed ledger, or blockchain, technology to enable secure transactions [4]. This article covers two prediction market events about Ethereum's price through the end of 2026. Kalshi's event, titled "Ethereum price at the end of 2026," is built around a price on a specific date and time, January 1, 2027 at 12 AM EST [1]. Polymarket's event, titled "What price will Ethereum hit in 2026?", is listed alongside a companion question about hitting a price before 2027 [2]. Its listed end time is 2027-01-01T05:00:00.000Z [2]. The individual Polymarket contracts in the sample ask whether Ethereum will reach or dip to specific dollar levels by December 31, 2026. The two events use different structures, so their contracts should be read separately. Each market's price is a snapshot of trading activity at the time it was recorded, not a verified probability or an executable quote. The sample also covers only part of each event. For Kalshi, 12 of 18 markets were included, and for Polymarket, 12 of 22 were included [1][2]. The included markets were selected by highest finite Yes price first, then by volume. An outcome that is not shown should not be assumed to have a lower price, and rankings should not be combined across the two events.
Why It Matters
The Kalshi contract resolves based on a price index rather than a single exchange. Its rules say that if the simple average of the sixty seconds of CF Benchmarks' ETHUSD_RTI before 12 AM EST on January 1, 2027 is at a given level, the market resolves to Yes [1]. The rules also state that not all cryptocurrency price data is the same, and that the price used is based on CF Benchmarks' Real Time Index rather than on a general price-checking site [1]. The rules describe 60 RTI prices being collected at the last minute before expiration [1]. The contract therefore measures where that index averages out at a fixed moment, not where Ethereum traded on any given platform at another time. The Kalshi markets in the sample are price ranges, such as 2,500 to 2,749.99 or 5,000 or above, each with its own Yes and No prices [1]. Their listed end date in the provider data is 2027-01-08T05:00:00.000Z, but that date appears in the market data and is not an announced event date or a confirmed settlement time. The Polymarket markets in the sample are threshold questions, such as whether Ethereum will reach a given dollar level or dip to one by December 31, 2026 [2]. The saved excerpt for this event shows the titles and listed end time but does not describe how these markets settle, so the exact resolution method for touch-style questions cannot be confirmed from this material. Volume shown for any market reflects trading activity and is not a measure of liquidity or the number of traders. Price differences between the two providers' contracts do not by themselves indicate an opportunity, because the contracts have different settlement rules and different included samples.
Snapshot context
The latest published provider snapshot for this topic was observed on 2026-10-13 at 18:00 UTC. It contains listings from Kalshi and Polymarket. Market descriptions and listed closing times define the contracts; they do not establish that the real-world outcome has occurred. This article does not include a separately verified news update. [1]
Frequently Asked Questions
What price does the Kalshi Ethereum contract use to decide the outcome?
The rules use the simple average of sixty seconds of CF Benchmarks' ETHUSD_RTI before 12 AM EST on January 1, 2027, rather than a single exchange's quoted price [1]. The rules also say that 60 RTI prices are collected at the last minute before expiration [1].
Does the Polymarket event use the same index as the Kalshi event?
The saved Polymarket excerpt lists the event titles, status, and end time but does not state which price source settles its markets [2]. The two events should not be assumed to use the same settlement method.
Why might a general price site show a different number from the contract's price?
The Kalshi rules state that not all cryptocurrency price data is the same, and that checking a source like Google or Coinbase may help but the contract is based on CF Benchmarks' Real Time Index [1].
What is Ethereum?
Ethereum is described as a decentralized blockchain with smart contract functionality, and ether is its native cryptocurrency [3]. Ether is second only to bitcoin in market capitalization among cryptocurrencies [3].
Do the prices shown mean the outcomes are likely?
The prices are market snapshots from the time they were recorded, not verified probabilities or executable quotes. The sample includes only 12 markets from each event, so the prices should be read as partial observations rather than a full picture of the market [1][2].
AI-written background. References identify the evidence used; Wikipedia links under Learn More are additional reading. Prices and provider rules are dated snapshots. This is not financial advice.
Market Insights
Price gaps of 2 pp+
1
Saved price pairs
2
Largest saved gap: 2.3 percentage points.
Price differences do not establish arbitrage. Check each pair's review, current order prices, fees and settlement rules.


